Popcorn New Writing Award

Popcorn New Writing Award

Celebrating fearless work

Bryony Kimmings winning the 2019 Popcorn Award

Bryony Kimmings winning the 2019 Popcorn Award

Set up in 2019 by Popcorn Group, the Popcorn Writing Award celebrates fearless work which playfully and artistically questions and addresses current affairs, societal trends and contributes positively to public debate.

2024 will mark the third year of a collaboration with BBC Writers who will be reading the shortlisted plays and taking part in the judging committee.

The award champions brave and imaginative writing at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. It is the only award of its kind, awarding a prize fund of £6,000 to the writers directly, allowing them the financial space and time to write something new.

Each year Popcorn puts together a committee which select the winners from the shortlist to award the prizes. Notable past committee members include: Golden Globe winning Ruth Wilson, Tony winning Enda Walsh, Oscar winning Gonzalo Maza & BAFTA winning Wunmi Mosaku.


How it Works: Eligibility Criteria

All plays submitted will be considered provided they are:

  • A new piece of writing which has not had a significant run before the 2024 Edinburgh Fringe.
  • A play that is being shown at one of the partnering venues: Assembly; Gilded Balloon; Pleasance; Summerhall; Traverse; Underbelly; The Space UK; ZOO Venues


How to apply: IF YOU ARE PRESENTING A SHOW AT PLEASANCE EDINBURGH IN 2024, please send your piece of new writing and a 50 word summary of your play to [email protected] with “Popcorn Writing Award 2024// Title of Play // Writer’s Name // Venue Associated” in the subject heading.


Final Deadline: 10AM, 21st JUNE 2024